Sunday, February 27, 2011

सुखद नयनों में उदीप्त

Hi, Jeetendra ji,
                          This poem is written especially for my nephew Uttathya Pahwa who i believe is Divine Mother's soul -child.!!!
Hope u will appreciate and 'see' the vision in this poem ? You may put this in your BLOG?
Thanks and Regards,

प्रस्तुत कविता को उत्तथ्य के जन्मदिवस( २५ जनवरी ) में "साकार देखना" की दिव्य -संकल्प है :--

सुखद नयनों में उदीप्त दिव्य सुनहरी आकृतियों से सुशोभित ( आत्माओं) का अवतरन हुआ !
वो श्वेताम्बर  जैसे चिदाकाश गंगा से उतर भू धरा पे अलंकृत होते  !
वो सूर्या के अलौकिक स्वर्ण तेजस से आवरन दीप की लौ में दमके!
चहुँ ओर वातावरण में मोतियों से बिन्द झरते प्रगट हुए !
मानो सरस्वती के उज्जवल शुभ्र जागृत वृन्द-गान के दीप !
उद्भास्विता के नमोस्तुती आह्वान स्वर -कंठ में सहज आलाप हुए !
उर ह्रदय भावों में बारम्बार गद-गद विशुद्ध श्रुतियों ने जन्म -मन्त्र नाद किया !
उन संगीतमय अव्यक्ति के मृदु-पलों को माताओं ने गोदी में अवलोकन किया!
जैसे वात्सल्य-भाव की कौशल्या और यशोदा की सर्वस्व सृष्टि की आनंदमयता !
सादृश्य आकृतियों  को  दिव्य- मातेश्वरी ने मानो विशेष आभूषित किया हो !
अद्भुत विभूतियों की वृत्त लिए स्वयं विष्णु ने जैसे सहस्त्रों दीपों की आत्मा प्रगट करी !
मन-बुद्धि-ह्रदय-भाव सभी में उस अंतरात्मा की असीम प्रसन्नता विभोर हुई ?
ऐसे अनेकों संकल्पों से  साकार अवतरित दीपों की लौ को जगाये माँ की अनकही ख़ुशी !
उभयतः शुभमस्तु के आशीर्वाद से प्रेरित पितरों के देवों ने शंख -नाद किया होगा !
मंदिरों के पुजारियों ने भी पुष्प-फूलों के सुगंध फैलाएं होंगे !
कभी सीता- राम कभी राधे-  कृष्ण के दिव्य-पूर्वजों के तापस द्वारा दीप- रहस्य भरे होंगे ! 
गुरुओं की इस धरा पे आशीर्वाद भरे आत्मा  -वेदान्त के ज्ञान को प्रतिबिंबित ग्रहण करते दीप !
धन्य हैं वो माताएं और पिताओं की दिव्य अभीप्सा से जागृत उद्बोधित 'धी मही ' के साक्षात वर !

Mother's Advice

A good advice to all the Ashramites in their dealings with
visitors and foreigners (and even among themselves):

When you have nothing pleasant to say about something
or somebody in the Ashram, keep silent. You must know
that this silence is faithfulness to the Divine’s work.

                                                                        - The Mother

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Stages of meditation

Stages of meditation

It is known that the restless mind cannot immediately enter into a state of thoughtlessness.  That is why meditation is practised in stages.  A 2005 paper “Meditation and the Neuroscience of Consciousness” by Antoine Lutz and his colleagues contains a very succinct description of this graded process accompanied by a concise table, which we highlight in this post.   
The following table is from page 40 of the paper.
Stages of meditation table: From the paper "Meditation and the Neuroscience of Consciousness" by Antoine Lutz, John Dunne, Richard Davidson
In their paper, Lutz et al. describe the four stages in the Buddhist practice of Open presence or Rig-pa Chôg-zhag.   
Stage 1: One strengthens the vacillating mind by building  concentration on some chosen external object  (e.g. candle, sky, etc) for long periods of time until the mind is unperturbed by external distractions, the recall of past events, and thoughts about the future.
Stage 2: One then employs techniques that cultivate an awareness of subjectivity in a manner that de-emphasizes the object.  One observes the mind and the senses while they are contemplating the external object.  In doing so, one gains phenomenal access to the reflexive awareness that is immutable (i.e. the Spirit or soul within).
Stage 3: One then de-emphasizes subjectivity as well, so as to further enhance that access to reflexivity.  At this point, one has developed the strength to stand back and reject the thoughts as they seek to enter the mind.
Stage 4: Finally, as the consciousness recedes inward, one loses awareness of subjectivity as well.  One becomes fixed in the bliss of the Presence within.
This is a quick summary from pages 39-45 of the paper, which is worth reading.  Click hereto read the full paper.
These gradations mentioned above have been described in an earlier post -see Types of Meditation.
These steps are analogous to the five stages of Samadhi described in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras (SavitarkaSavicharaSanandaSasmitaAsamprajnata).
Stage 1 – Savitarka(gross): Fix the mind on the external object without wavering.
Stage 2 – Savichara(subtle): Become aware of the mind and sense instruments which are involved in the cognition of the external object.
Stage 3 – Sananda(bliss): Let the attention recede from the instruments of cognition, and dwell on the ocean of bliss within.
Stage 4 – Sasmita (I-ness) : Deeper still, focus on the greater individuality within.
Stage 5 – Asamprajnata (objectless): In this stage, one goes beyond all supports and dwells on the Self itself.
Details of the above stages can be read at

See also

  1. Meditation
  2. Subtle forms of the ego – (transcending suffocation)
  3. Jnana Yoga : the ego blocks that have to be dissolved
  4. Developing discernment on which actions are spiritual
  5. Stabilizing the body before meditation
  6. Transcending the work-leisure cycle
  7. Aspects of Karma Yoga
  8. The transmutation of sexual energy
  9. Sublimation of the sexual urge through Yoga
  10. How to awaken the soul (psychic being)
  11. Towards more conscious sleep and dreams

Thursday, February 24, 2011

The Mother

The Mother’s paintings

The Mother’s paintings

Dear Friends,
The Mother once said that She began to draw at the age of eight and started to learn oil painting and other painting techniques when She was ten. She added on another occasion that at twelve She was already doing portraits. Vividly does one of Her disciples remember what She spoke apropos Her own paintings. Himself an amateur with the brush, he was acutely concerned with the thoughtless scatter of her best work over many countries. She mentioned a decade in which She had done Her finest painting and said that most of the pieces had been given away to various people at different times and in different places.
The disciple said: “Should we not do something to collect them again?”
The Mother calmly replied: “Why? Is it so important?”
“Surely, such masterpieces deserve to be found and kept safely. You had taken so much pains over them”.
“It does not matter”.
“But, Mother, don’t you think there will be a loss if they are not preserved?”
Then the Mother, with eyes far away yet full of tenderness for the agitated disciple, said in a quiet half-whisper: “You know, we live in eternity”.
Today, we take the opportunity of sharing with you some of the Mother’s paintings.
With warm regards,
Anurag Banerjee
Overman Foundation.
Be the first to like this post.


  1. February 24, 2011 at 6:40 am
    Nice info. It would be great if info is given about the paintings such as year, details of the subject etc..
  2. February 24, 2011 at 7:27 am
    Beautiful excerpt about The Mother’s paintings.
  3. Shashi Kalaga said,

    February 24, 2011 at 7:38 am
    Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful paintings of Mother on a very auspicious day like Mother’s Final Arrival Day.
    Thanks once again.
    With warm regards
    Shashi K Kalaga

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Post from Harriet


"My soul and his indissolubly linked
In the one task for which our lives were born,
To raise the world to God in deathless Light
To bring God down to the world on earth we came,
To change the earthly life to life divine."

Savitri Book Eleven, Canto One

Post from Harriet


"Remember why thou cam'st:
Find out thy soul, recover thy hid self,
In silence seek God's meaning in thy depths,
Then mortal nature change to the divine."

Savitri Book Seven, Canto Two